I can’t seem to find any functional difference between them. Is there one?
Yes, Unpublish removes the published PeBL from the library, and Delete moves the PeBL project to the trash can in the studio.
If you delete, the PeBL will remain on the library until it is unpublished.
If you only unpublish, it will remain in the studio.